Joy & Praise

A few nights ago I went to bed thinking, besides some minor annoyances my life is going pretty well…which for me instilled a sense of imminent doom! I  know I should not think that way but it never fails that when I become content something bad happens to shake things up. Maybe I brought it on myself or I could just “feel” it coming because a lot of things started falling apart. I didn’t stress out over it (well, the bank account being overdrawn due to our computer crashing and us losing all our financial information a couple months ago did give me a minor panic attack) I just pressed on. Don’t sweat the small stuff, right?

Through the minor crisis’s there were rays of sunshine. For instance, my best friend of over twenty years came to have a girls night in with me last night. We talked and laughed, we tried on clothes (since we are both losing weight she is getting all the clothes I can not wear anymore), we went shopping  for me a new pair of jeans since mine did not fit well anymore and I discovered I can wear a size 12!!! (I was in an 18), we made an awesome Mexican Lasagna, we watched funny movies and stayed up ’til 1:30 am talking. On top of that, I have the best husband! Not only is he gorgeous but he respects and appreciates me and he is a great father who works so hard and would do anything to make me and the boys happy. DH went with the boys to stay at his parents house and my friend lives close to them so he agreed to walk her dogs while she stayed over here with me. Only problem was that she has a cat too and my husband is highly allergic! He ended up with swollen eyes and a stuffy nose!

Now I am home alone enjoying a Sunday of rest. My friend had to leave for her church since she teaches Sunday School and my husband went to church with his parents where my oldest son will be doing Acolyte training. DH was one of the very first Acolytes in his parents church and here my son is following in his father’s footsteps. It makes a mama proud! DS is so excited about it too. He also started AWANA last week and he loves that program. He is memorizing so much scripture. We have been reading character building stories for our morning devotionals and it is really starting to sink in. He listens to other audio stories for biblical teaching like Adventures in Odyssey and Johnathan Park. We watch movies that show God’s love and providence in our lives like Letters to God, Facing the Giants, Jonathan Sperry and others from Vision Forum. I praise God that I am able to raise my boys to become Godly men. Joy!

God’s hand is truly in our lives. When hardships come our way we should “consider it pure joy” the bible says, and we should continue to remember the blessings God has bestowed upon us.

James 1:2 through James 1:4

“2) Consider it pure joy, my brothers, whenever you face trials of many kinds, 3) because you know that the testing of your faith develops perseverance. 4) Perseverance must finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.”
Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

