Busy Day!

My day started in the kitchen at approximately 9am. Today was my “kitchen day.” Tim took the boys shopping while I stayed home working on my kitchen to-do list. I threw on my apron, cranked up some country music and got busy! First, I finished chopping the rest of my onions for the freezer. I put 1 cup in each individual Ziploc bags to use when cooking. Then I tossed my canning jars in the dishwasher to sanitize for my chicken. While that was going on I took my 2 – 5# bags of potatoes and made them into hash browns, steak fries, and cubes (for mashing) and set them in the freezer. I also took about half-dozen and sliced them with my meat slicer and set in the dehydrator to make easy au-gratin. Next I took my 2 Boston butt roasts and cut them into 6 small steaks, stew meat and strips for fajitas. I kept the fat that I later used to render tallow for making soap later. I cut the fat off the chicken too but I’m not sure yet what to do with it. I wonder if it can boil down to be used like lard? I’ll have to research that! Anyway, I canned 6 quarts of chicken thighs and they turned out great. I will be able to use those in soups this winter. I had some frozen strawberries leftover from what I dehydrated so I decided to bake a pie with them. It was so very YUM-O! I made a custard pie also to help use up all the eggs we have on hand. My chickens are laying about six a day and we haven’t been eating them so I was looking for ways to use them up or store them. I ended up freezing about 2 dozen for future use (since the chickens will slow production in the winter). I also made some yogurt since the oven was going to be warm I could leave it in overnight. I finally had everything cleaned up and put away by dinner at 7pm. Tomorrow I plan on baking some bread, maybe make some beef jerky and work on my garden chores. Phew! I am beat!

2 Comments

  1. Elizabeth said,

    August 18, 2009 at 2:52 pm

    Here’s a trick that came from my mother’s side of the family.
    Chicken fat is great to deep fat fry Anything in. It makes Absolutely The Best doughnuts. We also use turkey fat. Great tasting flavor, and a great use of all that scrumptious oil, why get it from a can when you can get it from your place?
    Just cool and refrigerate, (or we northeners can set it in the outside cellar in wintertime.) It will be ready for next time, slick as a whistle.

    • kedreyer said,

      August 18, 2009 at 3:45 pm

      Neat! So do you cook it down like beef fat? Do you know how long it is good for in the fridge?


Leave a Reply

