Better than Sliced Bread

This morning I sliced a loaf of my homemade bread to make “Eggs in a Basket”. Then I grabbed my canned butter from the pantry and slathered it on the bread. I started thinking about how much I really like canned butter. It doesn’t need refrigeration, it is smooth and creamy and it melts…like butter! I have used my canned butter on bread, popcorn, corn-on-the-cob and for baking. The best part is how easy it is to can. I bought a dozen 4-packs of stick butter from the grocery store when they went on sale. I then slowly melted them in a large pot. I ladeled the hot melted butter in clean mason jars, wiped the tops off and screwed on the lids with bands. I placed them in the fridge and turned them every once and awile (to get them cooled evenly). Once they had cooled and made an airtight seal I simply stored them in my pantry. It’s better ON sliced bread for sure!

2 Comments

  1. Hillary Moore said,

    August 17, 2009 at 9:04 am

    This really has me intrigued. How long can the butter be safely stored this way?
    I just recently saw your post about sugar on the HSCountry group.
    Thank you!

    • kedreyer said,

      August 17, 2009 at 2:37 pm

      Here is where I found the recipe for canned butter http://www.endtimesreport.com/canning_butter.html. It says it will last 3 years or longer on a cool, dark shelf. There is commercial canned butter from New Zealand that claims and indefinate shelf life! We eat ours so fast I doubt we will need to worry about shelf life 😉


Leave a Reply

