Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing

Today I took my son to the local college to watch a theater production of the Judy Blume book, “Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing.” The lead character is a 4th grader named Peter who had a terrible problem – his little brother, Fudge. This bratty three year-old ran the household. The parents were so exhausted trying to keep up with Fudge that poor Peter got the brunt of their frustration or not noticed at all. As I watched the play I could see our lives unfolding on stage. It was exactly how our home seemed to be before we finally realized that the problem with our youngest son wasn’t him…it was US!

I can hardly believe the transformation our home has gone through over the past couple of weeks. My four year old child was holding us prisoner. We had to beckon to his every whim or suffer the circumstances. We were exhausted. I thought for sure he had ODD (Oppositional Defiant Disorder), ADD, ADHD, or something that was making him act so horrid. I read articles online, watched You Tube videos of kids slapping their parents on Dr. Phil, bought secular books on how to get your kid to behave and NOTHING worked. Wouldn’t you know the answer to my problem had been in front of me the whole time. The BIBLE. The instruction book for living. Why had I not thought of it before? Had I really believed I could find better advice elsewhere?

The Lord heard my pleas for help and a very nice woman that my husband is treating in his clinic offered a couple of books to him to review…it is their ministry to share these books…from No Greater Joy. “To Train Up a Child” by Michael Pearl was one of the books. I  devoured it in about a day and immediately changed MY behavior. In two days I saw radical changes in my son’s attitude. By the end of the week my oldest son could not believe the transformation. We were saved! We had a very loving and well-behaved boy who used good manners and (almost always) obeyed what he was told at first command.

I am in awe of what this has done to change my family. We are finally FREE AT LAST, FREE AT LAST, THANK GOD ALL MIGHTY WE ARE FREE AT LAST!

Leave a Reply

