Last Ditch Effort

Today is the last day of summer camp for the boys however my youngest son was asked NOT to come back today. Yesterday he had a total meltdown and screamed for almost an hour. They called me to come pick him up and requested he not return. This is not the first time this has happened. He was “kicked out” of a home school co-op also. During my oldest son’s annual home school evaluation by a certified teacher she observed my youngest son and suggested we place him a “school setting” to see if his behavior improves. It apparently did not. We thought we had his behavior nipped in the bud (see my previous post “Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing”) but it turned out that he was sick and that is why he didn’t have the strength to fight us. We don’t want to try drugs so I asked other home school moms for advice and was pointed in the direction of diet. With all my research on food and changing my own diet, I still did not make a change in my boys bad eating habits. I haven’t been able to completely eliminate things like high fructose corn syrup or MSG from their diet even though I know how bad it is for them. It’s so hard to make my kids eat as it is that I just wasn’t up for the battle. Well now, this is our last ditch effort to naturally help my son with his behavioral issues. If this doesn’t work then drugs will be our only option and for me…that is not really an option at all.

I was referred to something called the Feingold diet. The Feingold Association is a non-profit organization started by a pediatrician dedicated to helping expose how ingredients in foods and personal care products can trigger eczema, hives, asthma, headaches, dyslexia, irritability, infections, autism, PDD, ADHD and ADD. Reading about some of the children that were cured reminded me so much of how my son behaves. Could this be the answer to our prayers? Basically I will be starting by eliminating food dye, artificial flavoring, aspartame (which I have been adamant about my kids NOT ingesting) and aspirin or natural salicylates. I will keep a diet journal and record his behavior to see if he improves on this new diet. I could be weeks before I know something for sure. I figure if it’s not good enough for me to eat then why on earth would I feed it to my kids? So, I will be eliminating sugar, high fructose corn syrup, MSG, hydrolyzed vegetable protein, hydrogenated oils, sodium benzoate, sulphites, nitrates, gluten and caesin as well. I hope :o) Sounds like going RAW is the easiest way to avoid all this junk!

Did you know that food dyes used to be made from coal tar oil but are now synthesized from petroleum, of course petroleum is made from crude oil (yummy!). Artificial flavorings can made from virtually anything; there are no rules. A single flavoring might be made from hundreds of different chemicals. The preservatives BHA, BHT and TBHQ are also made from petroleum. Our food seems to be laden with chemicals and the labels on the packages are so misleading. The other day while I was at the grocery store I picked up some herbal tea energy drinks and the second ingredient (after water) was high fructose corn syrup yet the label read, “All Natural.” Gimme a Break!

To learn more about the Feingold Diet go to http://www.feingold.org/index.php.

4 Comments

  1. Marcia said,

    July 30, 2010 at 7:45 pm

    Best wishes on your new journey! The Feingold diet is a wonderful way to curb the symptoms of ADHD. Whenever you have any difficulty, be sure to go the Feingold Association. If you are not a member, join! You’ll be so glad you did.

    • kedreyer said,

      July 31, 2010 at 11:08 am

      Thanks Marcia! I will!

  2. Toni High said,

    August 1, 2010 at 3:44 pm

    Kris,
    So sorry to hear about continued issues. I just have to say, I know it is hard keeping junk out of our children, as bad as I want to and am able to do it myself, they still eat things that are so unhealthy! I will be praying for you as you go through this. Keep us updated. I am thinking I have read about this before and that it had really good results. And I know meds are not the way you want to go, but in some rare cases they are the only thing close to sanity. I have a friend who is older, probably 50’s or so and she is on the meds and it has made a world of difference in who she has become.

    • kedreyer said,

      August 1, 2010 at 10:04 pm

      I keep meeting mothers who finally had to put their kids on meds in order to bring some sort of normalcy to their lives so I am not going to rule it out. I want to try “everything else” first just to be sure. It’s been so difficult but the Lord has sustained me thus far. Thanks for the prayers! They are much appreciated 🙂


Leave a Reply

