Mix-A-Meal

Did you know that you can make your own food mixes at home  and save up to 90% of the cost of commercial mixes! This also allows you to control what ingredients go into your food cutting down on the number of preservatives. These mixes are shelf-stable and can be used camping, traveling or everyday cooking. You can also make mixes and put them in Mason jars with decorative fabric and ribbon to give as gifts. One of my favorite books to learn how to make mixes using my food storage is Mix-A-Meal Cookbook by Deanna Bean and Lorna Shute. There are mix recipes for just about anything you would find in a box at the grocery store!

Since the weather has turned chilly, I got busy in the kitchen this morning mixing up Hot Cocoa. I put the mini-Ziploc snack bags and reuse them…much cheaper than Swiss Miss 🙂 All you need is 2Tbsp of powdered milk, 1/2 tsp cocoa powder and 1 tsp sugar in each bag. I like to add mini-marshmallows to mine for the boys. Then you use like any other packet of hot cocoa! I buy my all my ingredients in bulk for food storage so the price of each packet is probably a penny each :0)

I also make my own oatmeal packets. I use the same Ziploc bags and in each I put 1/4 cup rolled oats, 2Tbsp of blended oats (like a powder), 1/4 tsp salt, and any other ingredients you like. You can add dried apple and 1/2 tsp cinnamon with 1 tsp brown sugar or 1tsp sugar with a small sprinkle of raisins…use your imagination!

Tomorrow I will be breaking out my pressure canner and will start putting up beans and the venison from the deer my husband got last year. They can be used in soups or stews as quick fix hot meals this winter!

Hope this helps inspire you to store up food in bulk and learn to make mixes and can your own food. It’s fun and frugal 🙂

Leave a Reply

