Vegan Christmas

 

Whenever I receive my bi-weekly order of produce from the local delivery of organic goodies, I always say it’s “Vegan Christmas.” Here a man delivers a big box that I get to unwrap and discover and the gorgeous fruits and vegetables that I will get to plan my meals from and it is so very exciting to me! My boys actually get excited too (which is surprising since most kids don’t get excited over produce). They help me unpack the box and we touch and smell everything. Sometimes just the sight of the food is enough to interest them like the Romanesco Cauliflower! I also sing a song my oldest son learned in Pre-K from watching a Ms. Pattycake video at church. It goes like this:

Fruits and Veggies

Good for You

You Have Some

And I will Too!

Fruits and Veggies in Your Tun-Tum-Tum

Fruits and Veggies, Yum-Yum-Yum

Orange carrots, green beans, red apples

Good For You

Yellow Squash & Purple Plums

Fruits and Veggies, Yum-Yum-Yum!

Here are some of the recipes I am looking at fixing with the fruits and vegetables I have on hand:

Irish White Bean and Cabbage Stew

Brussels Sprout Stir-Fry served over Brown Rice

Romanesco with Mushroom and Wine Sauce served over Rice Noodles

Red Potato Dill Salad

Red Cabbage and Apples

Fresh Cranberry Sorbet

Spicy Indian Cabbage and Potatoes

Mexican Pumpkin Soup

Cabbage and Potato Soup

Thick and Hearty Split Pea Soup

Middle Eastern Red Lentil Soup with Garlicky Greens

Smashed Red Potatoes with Cabbage

Raw Kale Waldorf Salad

As you can probably tell, I have a lot of red potatoes and cabbage! I also have a lot of beets but I am not sure what to do with them. I will sometimes juice them to add sweetness to a juice recipe or smoothie. I have also tried them in a fermented drink called Beet Kvass (which is probably what I will do with some of them). I am off to go research Beet recipes now!

Here is what I enjoyed today:

Sunrise smoothie – 2 oranges, 10 dried apricots and 3 prunes (soaked overnight), 5 apricot kernals, 1T flaxseeds and 1T pumpkin seeds (ground), 1T maca and 2T hemp seed oil

1 Yukon Gold potato with a head of steamed broccoli and Rich Cheddar Vegan Cheese

1 Grapefruit

Spinach Salad – 1 bunch of spinach leaves, 1/4 cup red onion sliced, 1 large button mushroom sliced, a handful of sprouts, a handful or pine nuts and a honey-mustard with hemp seed oil dressing (spicy and oh so yum-o!)

Leave a Reply

