Carpe Diem!

Life moves pretty fast. If you don’t stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it. – Ferris Bueller

 

I don’t believe in coincidence. I believe everything happens for a reason and is orchestrated by God. I believe He uses those “coincidences” to speak to us. For example…last week I was thinking about what kind of funny movies my mother-in-law might enjoy watching while she is home recovering from Chemo. I came across the movie “The Bucket List” with Jack Nickelson and Morgan Freeman. I loved the movie and it would be fitting since they are both diagnosed with cancer and decide to live out their remaining time doing all the things they always wanted to do. Then I began to wonder about my “Bucket List.” What are some things I want to accomplish before I die? I posted this on my Facebook page to see if anyone else thought about such things and what was on their list. This got some people motivated to make their own list.

Coincidentally, I received an email titled, “How to Create Your Bucket List.” I about fell out of my chair when I read that. But it gets better! I then received and email devotional based on Ephrsians 5:16 which says we should be making the most of every opportunity, because the days are evil. Hmmm, okay God are your trying to tell me something. Then I go to church on Sunday and the sermon is based on Psalm 90:1-12 “teach me to number my days” and the importance of making the most of the time we have here on earth. Okay, weird, but it gets even better. In Sunday School class we are doing a study from Andy Stanley and this message happens to be on…wait for it…yep, you guessed it…making the most of out TIME and realizing that our time on earth is limited and should be spent on things that matter most.

When I get asked the question, “If the doctor gives you (fill in a short amount of time here) to live, what would you do?” my first inclination is to respond, “Run up my credit cards having the best time of my life and partying till I die!” My more mature (buzz kill) side of me thinks about this question deeper and responds much differently. You see, Andy Stanley painted told us a story to illustrate how little time we have on earth. At age 40, a man bought a bunch of marbles and put them into a jar. The number of marbles were a visual representation of how many Saturdays he thought he had left if he were to live to be an old man. I think it was 1300. Every Saturday he would take a marble out and toss it in the trash. Once time is spent, it can not be regained. This made him take more seriously the time he had to spend and he spent it more wisely. This message made me rethink my Bucket List. We do not have the luxury of knowing how many more Saturdays we have left. We may not even have one more! We just don’t know…but God knows!

A few days ago I saw a poster on the Internet that said, “We are not human beings having a spiritual experience. We are spiritual beings having a human experience.” What kind of experience are you having? I know I could be having a much better experience if I had money 😛 But we all know that having money does not make ones life experience better. I think the Dali Lama said it best, “All people just want to be happy.” He even wrote a book called “The Art of Happiness.’ So, what makes you happy?  Fear steals our joy!  Isn’t it time we all start to live like we were dying? How many Saturdays do you have left? Don’t be afraid to go out and Capre Diem before your time is up. Find the Joy in your life today 🙂

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TNWg5DlWVa8

 

Leave a Reply

