P90X Days 1 & 2

Monday night I was at the gym and did one hour of step aerobics followed by one hour of yoga. Tuesday morning I woke up at 6am (two hours before I normally wake up) and did my first P90X workout. It was a killer Chest and Back with Abs workout but I had a lot of energy all day afterward. That evening I went back to the gym and did one hour of Zumba and one hour of Sculpt (more weight training). I soaked in the hot tub when I got home and that helped with my muscle soreness. I am surprised that I am keeping up with routines but I don’t want to overdo it and burn myself out too soon. This morning was Day 2 Polymetrics. This is like the Easter Bunny on steroids! A lot of jumping up and down in all kinds of directions. Lots of cardio and with my legs still sore from the past two days, it was like trying to jump with cement blocks tied to my ankles. I was soaked with sweat and completely spent after the workout but once I showered off and had my smoothie I was back and filled with energy! The endorphins really seem to help ease my stress during the day and give me a more positive outlook. I am back to being constantly hungry  because of all the calories I am burning. I figured yesterday I burned almost 1,100 calories so I need to keep my food intake up to keep my metabolism going. This means I need to be eating something about every 2-4 hours. Here is what my diet has looked like since Monday:

4/11/11

papaya, pineapple, banana, coconut and kale smoothie

small gold potato with chili beans and tortilla chips with salsa

grape, mandarin orange, dried cranberry, red onion, pecan and green lettuce salad with balsamic vinegrette

4/12/11

1 grapefruit

kiwi, banana, spinach, ice, water, tumeric, hemp seeds, hemp protein, cinnamon smoothie

Large Greek Salad: green lettuce, red onion, red pepper, kalmata olives, sunflower seeds, fenugreek sprouts, tomato, chick pea salad with Tuscan Italian dressing

1 small gold potato with lots of steamed broccoli and vegan rich cheddar cheese sauce

4/13/11 Diet Plan

4 tangerines, 1 banana, spinach, hemp seeds, hemp protein powder, Vitamin C packet smoothie

Energy Soup (see recipe below) with tortilla chips

Large Greek Salad (like yesterday)

If I get hungry in between meals I can always grab a handful of almonds, eat a grapefruit or make a green juice.

Energy Soup is an awesome Raw Vegan soup that is so filling and packed with so much nutrition for your body. For some not used to cold soup it can taste a little weird. It is not very aesthetically pleasing either as it resembles pond slime but if you can get past looks you’ll be doing your body a huge favor :-p

Energy Soup

1 romaine leaf

1 handful spinach

1/2 zucchini

1 apple

1/2 cucumber

1/2 cup sprouts

1/2 cup almond (soy, rice or hemp) milk

1 clove garlic

1 Tbsp kelp granules

1 tsp sea salt (or pink crystal)

1 tsp cayenne pepper

Mix in blender then stir in 1/4 cup sunflower seeds.

I uploaded my P90X Day 1 photos to my Flickr photo album if you have the stomach to view them :o) I figure the more people I tell that I am doing this and have to show my before pics to, the more motivated I am to stick to it! The more often I look at those pictures the more it motivates me to tone up all those rolls and flab!

Leave a Reply

