Days 3, 4 & 5

Today I am going to share some of my tips for staying motivated and keeping my energy up for my workouts. First let me catch up with my diet/exercise log.

Thursday I did P90X Day 3 and that evening was 2 hours of bowling with the scouts.

8 AM Papaya, Pineapple, Banana, Coconut, Spinach, Hemp protein powder, Hemp seeds

110AM 1 large grapefruit

12PM Large Greek Salad with Chick Peas

3PM Trail mix

5PM Small potato with Vegan Cheese

Friday P90X Day 4 and 1 hour Zumba class at the gym

8:30 AM Gold to Green smoothie

11AM Walnut “Meat” Taco Salad w/ Tostidos Scoops

2:30PM Raw Mojito (cucumber, celery, pear, mint leaves, lime juice)

4:30PM Creamy Pepper Soup w/Corn and Tostidos Scoops w/ Salsa

Today (Saturday) I did not have the P90X Day 5 disc since the folks I bought it from left it in their DVD player but I should have it by next week. Instead I did Day 10 Biceps/Back/Abs then I ran a 5k and walked for about 50 min. I slept in until 8AM (the time I USED to wake up before P90X!) so that is why my breakfast was so late.

11AM pineapple, pear, parsley, cucumber, wheatgrass, chai, MSM, Perfect Super Green Food Powder, 1 banana smoothie

I plan to eat leftover Creamy Pepper Soup w/ corn and chips for lunch and another large Greek salad w/ chick peas for dinner and perhaps and small Gluten-Free Veggie pizza that I will have my boys help me prepare and share with me.

Okay, so here are my tips. These are what I have found work for me and how I have been able to lose 65lbs and keep it off for a year now.

#1 Keep a journal of what you eat every day.

#2 Try to plan your meals out in advance so you know you have what you need on hand to make the meals.

#3 Eat every 2-3 hours to keep your metabolism going ALSO so you don’t get too hungry and overeat!

#4 Workout in the morning on an empty stomach. I did not do this all the time in the beginning BUT I know when I do I lose more weight and have more energy during the day.

#5 Drink your breakfast! A protein packed Green Smoothie for your first meal is going to be a great recovery for your body after your morning workout. Your cells are also my able to receive all those nutrients after a good workout.

#6 Don’t eat after 7pm! Late night snacking will kill a diet.

#7 Nix the alcohol. Not only does it add more calories but it goes straight to belly fat and it interrupts your sleep which will make early morning workouts harder.

#8 Don’t weigh yourself every day. I can fluctuate 5lbs on any given day so I try to refrain from weighing myself too often. I think once a week (in the AM before a workout) is good enough. Don’t forget to take your measurements also. You may not lose weigh but you could still loose inches because you are gaining muscle.

#9 Stay motivated! Tell other people what you are doing or workout w/ a buddy so you have someone to be accountable to. Find some inspiring music to listen to, watch some Mind Movies on YouTube like this one Weight Loss for Women and create a Vision Board with pictures from magazines of your goal.

#10 Eat clean. Choose mostly fruits and vegetables, whole grains, beans and legumes, water, etc. Cut out the crap! You know what that means :p’

And another tip…do not attempt P90X unless you have been physically active for awhile. I think too many people buy this program and think they are going to go from couch to bikini body in 90 days  and only last a week before giving up. Start small and work your way up. I started by simply walking 30 minutes a day three times a week. It took you years to put the weight on, it’s going to take time to take it off. Be patient with yourself. This is hard I know (I still have a hard time being patient). Good luck!

Leave a Reply

