A new strategy

It’s been a couple of weeks since my last post so I need to do a little catching up. I still haven’t lost any more lbs but I can definitely see more muscle and my endurance has been increasing. I am able to run a 5k without stopping! I have a 4.4 mile run coming up soon that I would love to be able to run all the way through but it is a notoriously HOT race so we’ll see how it goes. Yesterday I attended a workout called Crossfit at a man’s home here locally. I was invited by one of the instructors at the gym. It was an INTENSE circuit workout that only lasted 17 min. (5 stations at one minute each with 1 minute in between rounds for a break). It worked everything and boy can I feel it this morning. There was a cardiologist there who gave a speech about the importance of eating a healthy/clean/natural diet. I told him about my plateau and asked what could be done. His suggestion was less sugar…even fruit based! Of course, why didn’t I think of that? I cut out chips and alcohol – well…sorta…ok…I haven’t really :o)  but with my morning green smoothies I am consuming a LOT of sugar. My body then will naturally burn off the sugar before it attacks the fat. What he suggested was a high protein, low fat diet. Unfortunately due to my gall bladder being removed and having a sensitive liver, I can not process a lot of “meat” based proteins so I need to stick to my vegetarian diet. Adding eggs hasn’t seemed to bother me though and maybe I will add occasional fish. I haven’t decided yet. I know that even w/out the eggs I am getting plenty of protein from nuts, seeds, beans and my protein powder.

I’m still doing P90X though I didn’t hit the gym much last week since I sprained my ankle last Saturday dismounting from a mechanical bull wearing stiletto heels…don’t ask 😉 I’ve also been very stressed out. Mostly I am stressing about housework not getting done, home schooling my boys (JW fought me on doing schoolwork all last week), and bills. My husband is pressuring me to see a cosmetic surgeon to talk about options for correcting the damage done to my abdomen from a ruptured appendix when I was 18 and then having two C-sections. It’s all in love. He knows how much my stomach scar and fat bothers me and it is something that no matter how much I exercise will never correct itself. I’d LOVE to get a tummy tuck but I just can’t see spending that much money on ME. DH tells me I am worth it. I’m not sure what to do. I plan on seeing the surgeon to find out what can be done and will decide after the appointment.

Something else I have been thinking about is getting kids involved in Crossfit. During the summer the scouts and neighborhood kids can get together regularly to exercise in a circuit fashion then we can learn about nutrition and maybe even cook healthy snacks together. Like I don’t have enough to do already right :o)

Leave a Reply

